Sour Milk & Banana Pancakes

Ok, so I will admit this first recipe from the box is a bit of a cop out, but I have to start somewhere, right?

My boys requested pancakes for dinner.  I had several ripe bananas, so I decided to try banana pancakes – at least they would be eating fruit.  Fruit = Healthy.

My husband is the pancake master in our house.  However, his recipe doesn’t contain bananas, and I have no clue how to alter a recipe.  So, I consulted Google and found a fluffy banana recipe here to try.

The first ingredient is buttermilk = soured milk = a recipe I actually have in my recipe box.  Perfect.

Image

While the pancakes didn’t turn out as fluffy as I hoped, my boys said they were delicious.  My 5 year old ate four and was asking for more.  The recipe said it made 12 pancakes, but I made 24!  Apparently I don’t make my pancakes large enough.

IMG_5302

Let’s get back to the main point – the sour milk recipe is a keeper.  I never buy buttermilk and this is a cheap and easy substitute.  I like cheap and easy.  The banana pancake recipe was decent, but not a keeper for me.  I expected more fluff.  Maybe I over-mixed.  It wouldn’t be the first time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

